The Pokemon Go Book Tag

Hey I saw this on AdoptaBookAUS and it looked like fun, so I thought I should try it even though I’m only a little blog. 🙂

pokemon-tag-01starters

1. The book that started your love for reading?

Honestly that has to be the Harry Potter series, I remember reading The Deathly Hallows in year 6 and it took me nearly six months to read! Be fair it was huge. But after finally finishing it I was left wanting to read more epic adventures.

 

pokemon-tag02pikachu

2. An iconic classic that you’ll always love.

I’ve just graduated from a literature course in university and so you’d think I LOVE classics, but I really don’t. There are a few that were interesting reads, like everyone’s angsty teen Holden Caulfield in The Catcher in the Rye. I also liked Shakespeare’s Hamlet but I don’t think I would go back and reread them for the hell of it. But I did almost love Jane Eyre just because it was a classic I managed to read during my course relatively quickly and it didn’t bore me at any point. Also the newest film is pretty good. (Ah I’m nerding out a bit now D: ) And now that I’ve thought about it I also loved Sir Gawain and the Green Knight which is a retelling of one of the King Arthur stories but focuses on, you guessed it, the knight Gawain. I stumbled through the text that has LOADS of medieval language in but I think that’s what helped me love it so much, because I managed to read something that could almost not be considered English.

 

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

3. A book you lost interest in because it’s literally EVERYWHERE.

I want to say The Percy Jackson series. There are movies, I’m pretty sure the books are finished and I think they would be considered middle-grade? Correct me if I’m wrong. But I think I’ve honestly just passed the time where I could have loved these books, which is a shame, maybe. You tell me.

 

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

4. A book that reminds you of other books (tropes), but you still love anyway.

The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I loved the iconic blood divider; silvers had powers and reds do not and are therefore the lower-class. I liked the world and the characters. The rags to riches theme was nice. As Mare Barrow is a Red but happens to have Silver powers and so the Silvers pretend she is a long lost daughter from a Silver family. It reminded me of the Hunger Games because the girl starts off in the slums but then finds herself in the high life.

 

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

5. A book/series you have not started because of sheer size.

I guess I would mention the Percy Jackson series again – or perhaps the Game of Thrones series. I loved GoT’s tv series but I don’t think I have the patience for the books.

 

pokemon-tag06-gengar

6. A book that kept you up at night *ghost noises*.

It has been an aaaaaage since I’ve read a scary story that has kept me up at night. Maybe it’s because I don’t read much in the spooky sort of genre. I’m going to say Before I Go to Sleep by S J Watson, which isn’t YA but the concept of what happened to the woman freaked me out. Not a bed time read. Basically she got in to an accident and forgets everything that happens to her every time she goes to sleep at night. She usually thinks she’s around her twenties and so she doesn’t remember the husband she’s married to either, and you know, she doesn’t remember being forty. So she writes in a journal but then the facts from each day don’t add up…  Honestly, the idea of having little power of your own life because of the lack of knowledge / memories was awful. Who do you trust?

 

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

7. Your bookish OTP

Irene and Kai from The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. It’s amazing book and they have chemistry. I still can’t get over the world(s) in those books, I love the structure and I loved how Kai and Irene work. (And I’m going to stop there before I gush and spoil it all.)

 

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

8. A fire-hot, fast-paced read.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas the moment I read this I could not put it down. I read the tiny e-novellas straight after because they weren’t in book form yet and then I painstakingly waited a year for Crown of Midnight. I fell in love with this world and the heroine who wasn’t necessarily nice but just funny to read about.

 

pokemon-tag09-eevee

9. Series you’ll never get tired of seeing spin-offs for.

The Shadowhunters series by Cassandra Clare. I love Lady Midnight and I love the series’ in general, I think they got me out of a very long reading slump and I don’t think I would have loved books as much if I never found these books when I was like fourteen.

 

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

10. A book/series that was surprisingly awesome.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I avoided this book  for years for all the reasons I listed in my review and you can read about that by clicking here. But I wish I had read it sooner.

 

pokemon-tag12-legendary

11. An overhyped series you’re still excited to read.

The Throne of Glass series. I love it soooo much and Empire of Storms comes out in only a couple of weeks!

 

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

12. A collector’s edition you wish you owned.

Those beautiful hard back classics in Waterstones. You know the ones I mean if you walk in there. The picture doesn’t do it justice – you can’t see how shiney they are: here. But I’ve never gotten them because I’ve read/know most of the stories so I can’t validate buying them XD.

 

pokemon-tag10-egg

13. A debut novel you’re very excited for!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone and the rest of the trilogy. It has been a while since I’ve read it but I don’t think there was a moment where I thought it was slow or boring. I loved the descriptions and the worlds she created so I am interested to see how her next series goes.

 

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

14. An auto-buy author

A Sarah J Maas novel. I’m in love with The Throne of Glass series and now the ACOTAR series. Sarah’s novels just seem to get better and better with each book.

 

pokemon-tag13-server-down

15. A book release you’ve been waiting on forever.

I’m sorry that I’m mentioning this again but Empire of Storms. I’ve been waiting a year, basically since the moment I finished Queen of Shadows only days after that came out. So it has been FOREVER.

 

 

So I had fun with this tag and since I have never done this before and am too new to really know who I should tag – I tag EVERYONE. So if you see this and think it looks like fun DO IT! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Pokemon Go Book Tag

  1. I loved your answers! Yes to Throne of Glass I’m rereading the series now (again 😂🙈) so it can all be fresh in my mind EMPIRE OF STORMS IS SO CLOSE I CAN TASTE IT! hahah I’ve preordered and I really hope it’s delivered day of 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

