The Internet is Dark and Full of Spoilers, so it wasn’t much of a surprise – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I read this three weeks ago as this is one of the few books in the English section in probably the only bookstore in Shenzhen that sells English books that looked interesting. Wow, what a mouthful.

Anyway, I’ve avoided this book mainly because it looked like a horror story and I’ve never really been a fan of those. Just look at it.

creepy-book-cover

But I saw the movie trailer online and it looked far closer to fantasy. And with the very few choices I had in the shop I put my fears aside.

For those like my former self who still haven’t read it. It does have horror elements to it – like the entire first 100 pages is build up. But unfortunately because the internet is dark and full of spoilers I knew these children were real and so I was just waiting.

The story for me did not feel like it picked up until the last half or so and while I did like the descriptions of the places and whatnot it did just feel very slow.

I personally read this after work so there were moments where I was genuinely a little spooked. I’ll leave it at that though as I do think horrors should not be spoiled much. The suspense and build up make a horror. So I will not contribute to  the many spoils that float around the internet.

What’s great about it:

  • The enemies / monsters.
  • I liked the peculiar children.
  • The protagonist had a brain.
  • The last 100 pages was a whirlwind of awesome.

What’s not:

  • For some reason I thought it was a stand-alone. It isn’t.
  • The first 100 pages. Look you’re not crazy, protag. Sort your life out please.
  • The pictures. I felt like it made the descriptions of the characters irrelevant. I would imagine something a little different and turn the page – oh, theres a picture. Who needs an imagination?

But hey this is my own opinion. So I would say…

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

by Ransom Riggs

3.5 / 5 stars

It’s an interesting read if you have the patience to get to the good stuff. I’m unsure if I will pick up the next book though. I want to see how much the movie differs from the book.

Leave a Reply

