Sabriel by Garth Nix

This book is fairly old for YA – it was published around 2002 – or so my e-book tells me. YA was barely a genre, or at the very least not as widely recognised or awesome as it is now. This amazing thing would have slipped under my radar if THE SARAH J MAAS hadn’t said this book INSPIRED HER to write. And since it is one her favourites I had to read it.

And it does not dissapoint.

3dcover-sabriel-us.png

Sabriel by Garth Nix

5 / 5 Stars

I loved Sabriel, her voice really gripped me. She was about to graduate high school and she had a foot in the world of magic and the other in the human world.

And the magic. The acceptable form of magic in this world is known as Charter magic which is all about order and magic is used through symbols. Then there is free magic which is against the charter.

Sabriel’s father is the Abhorsen, a necromancer who uses the Charter to bind free magic creatures and dead ones. But then one night he is in trouble and Sabriel must cross through the Old Kingdom, where magic is everywhere in order to save him.

I really did love the world-building in these books. There is a wall that divides the Old Kingdom from the…new? XD And magic does not work too far away from the Old Kingdom which keeps most people safe. Technology doesn’t work in the Old Kingdom while it does in the new. So both kingdoms have very different ways of life and problems and it was very intersting to read about. It is also something that could be expanded upon further and I am so excited to read his other books…(in e-form Q.Q).

My only issue with the books was the romance. I understand Sabriel was put through an extreme series of situations which means emotions are heightened and therefore…it happens? But I could not personally see why Sabriel fell in love or how?

But overall I really reccomend Sabriel. It has excellent world-building and if you like magicky books I reccomend it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

