Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I loved this book, I flew through it and then…I reached the ending and I didn’t.

( AND I AM BACK WITH MY INCREDIBLY AMATEURISH PHOTOGRAPHY! Are you not entertained? )

img_1724

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

4 / 5 stars

There are some books that I almost wish were stand-alones not because I didn’t like them but because I felt like they would have an insanely strong ending if they didn’t have to carry on. But hey, that’s just my opinion. I am also seeing way too many series now, which is great because I get to visit the lives of the characters I love all over again but I am beginning to want books to end. (Never expected that).

And I can’t really say much about my thoughts on the ending of Three Dark Crowns without obviously spoiling it. What I will say is something happened right at the end with Arsinoe and Katherine and I kind of guessed this was the case from like a few chapters in after I learnt the lore surrounding their story. So yay I was right and I mean I actually liked the twist at the end but I didn’t like how it ended. There was this huge build up to the three queens’ battle and I did not find the ending fulfilling.

That aside, I loved it.

I loved Katherines voice – who we meet first. She is just this sweet girl who has never been good enough but still tries so hard. She is the poisoner queen.

I was rooting for Arsinoe too who has no powers and despite the very hopeless future she has I was constantly rooting for her to find her familiar.

There was a lot of POV jumping and that didn’t make me hate the book as it was interesting learning about everyone’s lives I did at times want a little more on the queens etc. But everyone always has favourites when it comes to multiple POVs!

Let me know who you were rooting for below!

img-0163

Did you know you can a have different cover according to what queen you’re rooting for? I wish I’d known but then I have Arsinoe’s cover so that’s not so bad. Although Katherine’s green poisoner cover looks lovely.

I will be picking up the sequel Dark Throne. I do recommend this book! 🙂

One thought on “Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

  1. Pingback: Flash reviews of the books I read in February. And a brief intro of me making excuses about why I don’t post regularly. | The YA Hunt

Leave a Reply

