Flash reviews of the books I read in February. And a brief intro of me making excuses about why I don’t post regularly.

Hey, so I don’t normally make a list of what I’ve read last month but my life has been pretty hectic and so I haven’t had the time to cover as much as I want. This month I finished a novel and am now trolling through the processes of queries, synopses and receiving my first rejection – what a milestone! XD And I moved back to China to finish the last few months of my contract working as a teacher. I also feel like I owe myself to make the effort to see more of the country, which I have been failing to do. And I feel like I need to make this blog more regular. So I’m thinking I’m going to start regularly posting weekly, likely Tuesday and when I say Tuesday that could mean Wednesday but my heart’s in the right place.

Pros

Cons

 

20983366

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

3.5 / 5 stars

 I found it pretty slow. I preferred Passenger. This was all shrouded in a bit too much mystery for me. I wanted a character to have all the facts so they could act upon them. Instead of it being divided but we, the reader knows and becomes incredibly frustrated watching the characters bumble around. I liked the story but there were times it dragged on a little and I couldn’t enjoy Nicholas’ POV.

However, I liked the coverage on Henry and wished their could have been more. And to see Sophie develop as a character was nice too.

I feel like I owe this series a re-read honestly because Wayfarer seemed so different in comparison to Passenger. I want to believe it is me being an idiot and forgetting the details of a book I read a year ago.

 

28220892

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

3 / 5 stars

This is a retelling of the fairytale Wassalissa the beautiful and I hope I might have a better understanding of this book if I read the original. Because Vassa in the Night seemed so strange. I like strange but this was another level.

I also feel like Vassa could have had some more motivation as a character.

But I did love Vassa’s doll, Erg. She reminded me of a time when I was a kid and wished my toys were real.

 

img_1494

The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

5 /5 stars

I loved it and cannot wait until the next book comes out. I’m planning on writing about the three books as a collective because this series needs more hype. Secret agents. An evil baddie. Alternate worlds. Magic. My list will go on in a future post. Pick up The Invisible Library if you haven’t tried this series yet.

 

img_1488

Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

4.5 / 5 stars

I got to spend some time with the characters I love. This book is just a homage to all the characters from   Cassie’s Shadowhunters series’ I recommend it if you loved those.

img_1724

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

4 / 5 stars

See my review here. I liked it.

ck_3dcvr

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

5 stars

Also see my review. I freaking loved it.

One thought on “Flash reviews of the books I read in February. And a brief intro of me making excuses about why I don’t post regularly.

Leave a Reply

