A gloriously annoying but true writing tip.

“If your beginning can be cut from your story and it doesn’t change anything, you’re starting too early.”

– Said by many people, in many different ways all the time and now by yours truly.

 

I’ve lived and breathed this phrase since I’ve started writing and I thought I’d been doing it. But it’s hard to cut away at something we love. I’ve sent the beginning of my novel off four times already to different agents but part of me had been wishing see chapter two instead. Which is bad. So I listened to my doubt and I’ve started editing again.

The Perfectionist Chronicles continues!

perfectionism

Don’t know when I’ll finish it and there’s no date set but as I said to everyone who bitched at me for doing this again “you can’t rush genius”. If only I believed that. I feel more like I’m patching up some dilapidated building with sellotape. Moral is be ruthless as hell with your novel.

54a78add788db_-_crying

One thought on “A gloriously annoying but true writing tip.

Leave a Reply

