We Are Okay by Nina Lecour

Do you want to know why I bought this book? Why I am a terrible human being? because I loved the cover. I freaking loved it. LOOK AT IT. Did I know what the book was about when I impulse bought it? Hardly at all.

img_1865.jpg

Also because I heard about it on PolandBananasbooks channel and I loved the premise of a girl leaving home with just her phone, wallet and a picture of her mother and I wanted to know why.  But it turned out to be more than a mystery novel, maybe you guys know more about this novel than me but I went in to it virtually blind because I only I had eyes for the cover. It wasn’t what I expected but I loved it all the more for it.

Also my crappy book photography is back ~

IMG_1861

We Are Okay

by Nina Lecour

5 / 5 Stars

The first few pages felt a little Catcher in the Rye, Holden Caulfied-esque to me. The empty beds, a letter, the weather; it all had to mean something to Marin. And I kind of liked that and I didn’t.  I liked Catcher in the Rye (sort of kind, that is a rant / babble that I might save for a later post). I liked it because you can feel the character’s personality almost instantaneously through different objects and its not all she felt like this and this blah blah. It spices it up. But it also stops doing that very quickly, which is good because while I liked Catcher in the Rye it was a bit slow going and boggily too introspective at times. So the beginning of We Are Okay gave me moody teenage flashbacks for a minute. But crisis averted, it moves on!

To the mystery sort of why did she run away. We are informed her good friend she cut off all ties with from her home town is coming to visit. And then I am waiting for this. Because when her friend arrives it will reveal why Marin did this super extreme thing.

I really loved this premise. To just run away and leave everything because doesn’t everyone have those days where you just want to get up and go? You’re on a train, at work, or just sitting on the couch and you think what if I just go? But we never actually do it, which is why I was intrigued to read about a character who did it. But of course, Marin’s reasons are spurred by trauma.

Which is where it now becomes hard to talk about the rest of the novel without spoilers. So I’m going to say that it’s definitely worth a read if you enjoy reading books about finding yourself, teenage love but also family secrets (ones you wished you’d never known). This book was a roller coaster. And I found the ending satisfying.

I want to say so much more about this book! But I feel like wordpress isn’t the best platform to gush about spoilers because it’s hard to hide them from unsuspecting eyes. So let me know your thoughts on the book, if you’ve read it and if you haven’t DO! Sorry for the babble, love you all! 🙂

vhxlbss

Leave a Reply

