A Court of Flipping WAR (A Court of Wings and Ruin Review)

It has been two days since the penultimate novel has came out and I have finished it on a small tiny phone screen. And I loved it, of course!

23766634

A Court of Wings And Ruin

by Sarah J Maas

5 / 5 stars

Now have I mentioned I love Sarah’s stories? Because by the way, I do, in case you missed my fan-girling already. ACOTAR was my least favourite in the series and then I fell truly in love with ACOMAF and I think it is probably my favourite book of all time – quote wise, the issues it covers and because of the plot, description, world. It just didn’t shy away from anything. So it was almost inevitable that I would love her third novel. I missed those characters as if they were a little family of my own. And if you could guess by the 5 / 5 rating I loved it. But maybe I’m just being picky but I felt like… the book should have hurt me more (strange thing to want, I know.)

Okay well let me GUSH for a minute in a somewhat neat style about what I loved:

  • HEY EVERYONE’S BACK. Picking up from where we left off Feyre goes to infiltrate Tamlin’s court and she’s being a manipulative goddess.
  • Feysand.
  • We hear more about the courts as they all attempt to band together to stop Hybern.
  • More evil booglie fae monsters are revealed.

If you loved ACOMAF pick up this book, why haven’t you yet? 😀 If you’ve only read ACOTAR oh-my-gosh why haven’t you read further, so much happens. ACOTAR is so different in comparison to the rest.

Anyway here is my one thing against the book, which is a slight spoiler so if you don’t want a single hint on how the book may make you feel don’t read further! 🙂

So now let me explain my one problem about it all. There is this huge war that’s going to happen and there are so many powerful things on either side and everyone is using so much magic. They constantly run out, which is fair enough they’re all being stretched thin. So when they get to the penultimate battle (Obviously, not a spoiler unless you believed Hybern was going to poof in to smoke. Spoiler he doesn’t.) and fight. Why was my heart not ripped from my chest? I cried while reading it, a true sign of a book that can emulate feels and I was happy with the outcome. But I didn’t feel like they lost so much. It felt too good to be true.

Maybe I’ve become a cynic. But that’s just my take on it. Loved it all but I feel like I should be heartbroken…but I’m really not. Hope this babble made some ounce of sense. I’ve tried not to be too spoilery! They do lose things, but in my opinion not enough. Also did anyone else find this book less quotable? So many awesome things happened but I felt like I could have highlighted half the pages in ACOMAF as quotable whereas not really at all with ACOWAR.

Also I’m hoping we see more Tamlin in the spin-off series she’s planning to do. Tamlin was complex and his actions in ACOWAR really made me want to know why. What was going through his head?  What did you guys think (if you’ve finished it yet?)

 

18616300

Leave a Reply

