I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I”m far too happy that I found a copy of this book in a book store in China in English. It was like the story was meant to find me. Then five days later a friend was leaving and had a lot of books she was leaving behind, a much prettier yellow copy of I’ll Give You The Sun being one of them. So I was meant to find to find this story as much as those characters were meant to find each other. And this book, the characters and their stories did help me so much. It lifted me up in a way I didn’t know I needed. It made me think about things I didn’t know I needed to think about. I recently read We Are Okay by Nina Lecour and that was amazing and thought provoking, but this, this is what I needed. A book that loves art and talks about art and people’s messy lives.

IMG_2038.JPG

I’ll Give You The Sun

by Jandy Nelson

5 / 5 stars

I love contemporary novels that describe things as if they’re fantastical. It adds this new layer to the novel and also gives the book a little bit of natural magic. (I may be biased because I flipping love fantasy.)

Anyway I loved I’ll Give You The Sun from the very beginning. I could just hear Noah’s voice from the first page and I loved how he had drawing ideas from everything and I could picture his ideas too. I was taken to the idea of the twins, as stories about twins are always fascinating and how their relationship dynamic works. They divvy up parts of the world as if they’re small gods, hence the name of the novel. I found their relationship very believable.

I enjoyed Jude’s POV too, which is written two years after Noah’s. I liked the whole Clark Gable thing and her wacky ‘bible’. Also her hypochondriac tendencies, which everyone does every so often. But I did find the two year skip a little spoilery in terms of flicking back to Noah’s POV. Even though the stories were supposed to flow like that. It did make me prefer Jude’s POV over Noah’s.

The twins’ journeys were so interesting to read about. One thing I would have loved to read about actually was Noah’s POV while he was sixteen, he was going through a very hard point in his life and I really wanted to know what he was thinking.

I loved Oscar and Guillermo. They were funny and amazing. Honestly, I loved this novel and it’s hit my all time favourites.

I have a soft spot for stand alone novels now that there are so many trilogies and such out there but I think I would love a continuation of this book! Contemporaries don’t get enough sequels, supernaturals hog that corner of the market so much.

Tell me your thoughts! I may have fan-girled a bit. :’)

2 thoughts on “I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award – Charlotte Annelise

Leave a Reply

