The Greek Gods Book Tag

I saw this on Charlotte Annelise’s blog and who does not like Greek gods? So I thought why not, let’s do this! 😀 And anyone who wants to do this tag should! 🙂

(also I will try to post more regularly it has just been very hectic lately. Work, life!)

Rules:

  • Pingback to me here so I can read all your posts!
  • You can use my graphics if ya like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want to
  • Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love.

 

ZEUS: King of the Gods – Your Favourite Books (of all time!)

acomaf-cover-3               

If anyone’s seen my last few posts I don’t think any of of these came as a surprise! This was actually really hard to just limit to four but I thought I would dub this one as my favourite books of all time for a bit more DRAMA.

 

HERA: Queen of the Gods – A Badass Female Character

13519397

Did you expect me to answer with anyone else other than Celeana Sardothien?

 

JANUS: God of Beginnings – Your Favourite Debut(s)

        

I think I’ve mentioned all of these but Enclave before. Enclave is the first in a trilogy about a dystopian world that was overran by these creatures that eat humans and how society has changed to combat them. It was actually very different from a lot of the YA dystopias because it doesn’t shy away from the gritty side of things. I really liked the heroine Deuce and the mechanics of how the world worked was super interesting. They live underground and have split the roles in their society in to three parts and if I remember right you decide your role at the age of 15? But either way this is a series I really want to go back and re-read because it was such a journey and I think this series needs more attention even though dystopia’s a little dead now.

 

ATHENA: Goddess of Wisdom – Your Favourite Non-Fiction Book

This was really hard because I don’t really read non-fiction books. I’ll read articles here and there but never whole books. It’s just not something I would choose to do so I think the last one (and one of the very few ) I read was this. It’s about this family who’s son almost died and he came back saying he had been to heaven.  I don’t know what your stance on God is or otherwise but I’m putting it in the non-fiction section because it’s about the family’s experience with a son who believed he’d gone to heaven. I didn’t really like the book much from a narrative sense, but as I’ve said non-fiction / biographies are just not for me. I guess I’m just not that nosy!

 

APHRODITE: Goddess of Love – A Book You Adore and Recommend Everyone Read (other than your favourite book)

the-city-the-city

Chine Meavile’s The City & The City. It’s not my favourite book of all time but it’s one that really made me think. If you like books like that I really recommend this.

 

HADES: God of the Underworld – An Evil Book You Wish Didn’t Exist

This is a super unpopular opinion but Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall. I read the first third of it a few years ago and DNF’d it but this always springs to mind when someone says what don’t you like. I’ve never touched another one of her books since, maybe I’m missing out? Apparently this had been made in to a movie now too, I might have to play a game of I hate myself and watch it.

 

POSEIDON: God of the Sea and Earthquakes – A Beautiful and Groundbreaking Book

      

Ground-breaking?  That’s actually incredibly hard to think of. I’ve read so many beautiful books but ground-breaking? I’m going to flip this around and say ground-breaking for me as a writer and what made me really want to write stories. The last book is definitely not YA and the series is definitely 18+! But it is an awesome supernatural novel and I loved the first few books in the series.

 

APOLLO: God of the Arts – A Beautiful Book Cover

IMG_1865

We Are Okay by Nina Lecour. LOOK AT IT.

 

HYPNOS: God of Sleep – A Book So Boring You Almost Fell Asleep

1984 by George Orwell. It seemed interesting and I want to read it but maybe I’m not at the right point in life to do that yet. I’ve tried but if I’m in bed reading that book I’ve fallen asleep like three times trying too. I think it’s all a little over the top for me. Maybe I’m trying to take it too seriously?

 

HERMES: Messenger of the Gods – A Book You Sped Through

Any book I love I speed through so the list could be endless and the most recent book I sped through was ACOWAR. So for variety I’m going to say… The Young Elites by Marie Lu I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I did. And I will be posting a review of it soon! 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Greek Gods Book Tag

Leave a Reply

